Electrical Executive Named Engineer of the Year

November 18, 2013

Wayne Dilling, Electrical Executive for Mortenson Construction’s Renewable Energy Groups, was awarded the Outstanding Engineer of the Year Award by the Twin Cities Chapter of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Power and Energy Society (PES) association last week during the Minnesota Power Systems Conference held in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota.

This prestigious award pays tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, the engineering profession and humanity. Recipients of IEEE Awards are recognized as the most influential members of their chosen field. "Wayne is very deserving of this award for all of his contributions to IEEE PES in the Renewable Energy sector and for being a true leader in the development of standards," said Mythili Chaganti, P.E., a senior substation engineer with Xcel Energy and past chair of the IEEE PES Twin Cities Chapter. "His dedication and commitment to the industry is exemplary, and I couldn’t be more pleased that he was recognized in this way."

Wayne has approximately 25 years of experience in the power systems industry including hydro, gas, oil, coal, refuse derived fuel, and renewable sources in the U.S. and internationally. As a senior member of IEEE, Wayne is currently chair of the IEEE PES Working Group on Wind and Solar Plant Collector Design and vice-chair of the Wind and Solar Plant Grounding for Personal Safety Task Force. He received his Bachelor of Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Minnesota and is a registered professional engineer in Minnesota. Wayne joined Mortenson in 2005 as a senior design phase electrical manager. Previous to joining Mortenson, Wayne held positions at Freeborn-Mower Electrical Cooperative, HDR Engineering, and NRG Energy.